David Thauberger Road Trips and other diversions


View Curator's Message

Regina-based David Thauberger is a nationally recognized artist best known for his iconic paintings of vernacular architecture. Co-curated by Sandra Fraser, associate curator at the Mendel Art Gallery, and Timothy Long, head curator at the MacKenzie Art Gallery, the exhibition provides the first comprehensive overview of this remarkable Canadian artist. Road Trips & Other Diversions brings together some 70 paintings, prints, and ceramic works produced from 1971 to 2009 drawn from more than 30 public and private collections across Canada.

Prayer Home

acrylic, window screen on canvas

Growing up under the soaring spire of the Roman Catholic church in Holdfast, Saskatchewan, Thauberger understood from an early age the importance of places of worship to small towns. Since then he has repeatedly returned to these local landmarks for inspiration. The Veregin Doukhobor Prayer Home, which served as the community’s worship space, as well as residence for its spiritual leaders, is an extraordinary example of the architectural expressions of faith in Saskatchewan.

Private Collection

River City

45.7 x 61.0 cm
acrylic on panel

Collection of MacPherson Leslie Tyerman LLP

Long Haul

acrylic on canvas

It’s a strange fact that before 2000, Thauberger had only made a handful of works featuring the ubiquitous prairie grain elevator. Since then, the rapid loss of these emblematic buildings has prompted him to record them in earnest. Long Haul captures with crisp precision the looming bulk and intricate mechanical appendages of a Saskatchewan Wheat Pool elevator, a structure belonging to a grain company that itself no longer exists.

Collection of the MacKenzie Art Gallery, purchased in gratitude for the significant contributions made by donors, community partners and volunteers in bringing the Impressionist Masterworks from the National Gallery of Canada to the MacKenzie Art Gallery 2001-1.

Collection of the MacKenzie Art Gallery

Island Christmas

acrylic on canvas

In 1993 Thauberger was invited to be artist-in-residence at the Confederation Centre Art Gallery in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. He spent time exploring the Island where it seemed every vista was already composed as a painting. Nonetheless, he incorporated buildings from different locales to create the image he sought. Paintings such as this one are distinguished by Victorian Carpenter Gothic architecture and a slice of blue in the background to suggest the water’s edge. Although he only went to PEI once he still finds inspiration from the photographs he took there. 

Private Collection

Chappell Picture

109.2 x 142.2 cm
acrylic, window screen on canvas

In the spring of 1993 Thauberger was the artist in residence at the Confederation Centre Art Gallery in Charlottetown, P.E.I. The building depicted here, designed by architect Charles Chappell, is located only a block away from the gallery. Intrigued by the Victorian Carpenter-Gothic details, Thauberger chose a bright palette to accentuate the building’s symmetry. He was charmed by the Island’s picturesque terrain and historical small towns, and he continues to make paintings based on images taken at this time. 

Collection of Confederation Centre Art Gallery, Gift of the artist, Regina, Saskatchewan, 1993

Twist Cone

109.2 x 142.2 cm
acrylic on canvas


Collection of Pamela Thauberger and Kyle Folk

Mack’s Garage

109.2 x 142.2 cm
acrylic on canvas

Thauberger paints the domestic and the sublime with the same brush. In doing so he makes the domestic seem monumental and the sublime seem commonplace—at times within the same work. We can see this most clearly in an image like Mack’s Garage, which plays on the dissonance, or discord, between the small-town particularity of “Mack” and the multinational abstraction that is the Shell Oil Company.

National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa

Painter’s Dilemma

acrylic on canvas

The apparent simplicity and directness of Thauberger’s artwork belies his deep understanding of art history and his appetite for diverse forms of popular culture. Painter’s Dilemma captures the real pull Thauberger feels between the figuration and variety of influences of Funk art in California and the formal approaches of both Pop art and abstraction in New York. In and around the letters are architectural motifs from postcard imagery. 

Collection of the Winnipeg Art Gallery, Acquired with funds from The Winnipeg Art Gallery Foundation Inc. G-90-462 ab

Manhattan II

screenprint, flocking on paper

Home to many art museums, Manhattan is a favourite travel destination for Thauberger. To create this silkscreen print, the artist chose hand-marbled antique papers from New York that he had cleaned, fixed and trimmed. An image of the famous Empire State Building emerges from the flocked surface. Thauberger revisits the kitsch velvet-painting aesthetic that he first explored in 1977 to produce these surprisingly beautiful prints.

From the University of Lethbridge art collection; gift of the Ruskin family, Calgary Alberta, in memory of George Ruskin, 1994

Steel Pavilion

acrylic, glitter on canvas

This futuristic building is based on a postcard of the United States Steel building at the 1939 New York World’s Fair. Along with the other pavilions this impressive stainless steel hemisphere represented the promise of innovation, technology and industry. The impractical and over-designed architecture stands in contrast to Thauberger’s imagery of suburban and rural life. Juxtaposed this way, the paintings draw attention to how various cultural values, history and aspirations are embodied in the structures we build.

Collection of Art Gallery of Windsor

Parachute Jump

177.8 x 116.8 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Thauberger incorporates many influences into his work that are drawn from the worlds of popular culture and fine art. This painting is part of series based upon hand-tinted vintage postcards of The World’s Fair. Held in New York in 1939-1940, the Fair was an elaborate scheme to boost the economy in the midst of the Depression. This structure continues to be a famous landmark on Coney Island, to where it was relocated in 1941. 

Collection of the Canada Council Art Bank / Collection de la Banque d'œuvres d'art du Conseil des arts du Canada

At Home

serigraph on paper

Collection of the Mendel Art Gallery. Gift of Gordon Kushner 1986.

Lake Reflecting Mountains

acrylic, glitter on canvas

Thauberger is fascinated by landscapes that are “famous for being famous,” such as Niagara Falls and the Rocky Mountain. Our ideas about wilderness are influenced by calendars, travel brochures and postcards. He painted the top half of this canvas with airbrush and toothbrush, and he poured and dribbled paint on the bottom half. Finally, he added the empty red canoe, which is a recurring image in his mountain paintings.

Private Collection


acrylic, sand on canvas

Majestic Mount Hood reflected in the mirror-like waters of Oregon’s Lost Lake is the subject of this postcard-perfect image. Not content with one natural wonder, Thauberger has added a second: a total solar eclipse which sits atop the mountain like a cherry on a sundae. The artifice, or trick, of the image is in plain view—cut-out silhouettes of trees, airbrushed clouds, stencil-like reflections in the water—yet feelings of awe and wonder are stirred in viewers nonetheless.

MacKenzie Art Gallery, University of Regina Collection 1985-46

White Hall 1981

228.8 x 168.5 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Camera in hand, Thauberger began driving around Saskatchewan, and beyond, in the late 1970s. The photographs he took continue to be the source material for many of his paintings. White Hall depicts a former Masonic lodge in the Saskatchewan town of Craik. This striking, false-front building has strong formal qualities and a monumental white façade. The white hall building appears in a number of works in the exhibition, in various media and sizes.

Art Gallery of Hamilton, Gift of the Volunteer Committee, 1982

Dance Hall

acrylic, glitter on canvas

Thauberger used to go dancing in this community hall, located in Penzance, just north of his hometown of Holdfast, Saskatchewan. He had just started taking photographs of small towns for source material. Thauberger is well known for his depictions of the vernacular architecture of the Prairies. Dance Hall is one of the first paintings in which the artist placed a single building in the centre foreground of the composition, emphasizing the flatness of the building as well as the surface of the canvas. 

Collection of the Mendel Art Gallery. Purchased 1981.

Dream Home – Ethnic Version

115.0 x 172.7 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Thauberger’s regionalism springs from a collision between the local and the ‘world out there.’ This collision unfolds in an obvious way, for instance, in his paintings of bungalow façades titled with real estate catch-phrases, such as Dream Home (Ethnic Version).

MacKenzie Art Gallery, University of Regina Collection, gift of Mr. Douglas Rawlinson 1981-17

Rainbow Danceland

50" X 70"
acrylic on canvas

This is one of Thauberger’s most recognizable paintings. Located at the edge of a salt water lake in Manitou Beach, SK, Danceland has been an entertainment hub since 1928. The town was the site of the Watrous Art Salons where Thauberger met and got to know local artists, many of whose works he collected. Instead of using a
paintbrush, he applied the paint by flicking a toothbrush (except for the front doors) and embellished the surface and frame with glitter.

Collection of the Glenbow Museum, Calgary. Purchase 1980 with funds provided by the Canada Council and Esso Resources Limited.

Collection of Glenbow Museum, Calgary, Canada. 80.9.2

Crystal Palace

acrylic, glitter on canvas

This painting of England’s Kew Gardens is part of a series of large canvases Thauberger made after his first trip to Europe. Aesthetically, the artist gives a nod to the Impressionists, especially Claude Monet’s water lily paintings, as well as to abstract, colour field painting, which was a popular style in the 1960s and 70s. One important impact this trip had on Thauberger was a growing appreciation of how the Impressionists were relating to their immediate environment, capturing what was outside their windows. 

Private Collection

Farm Painting

121.3 x 168.0 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Works like Green and White Painting and Farm Painting mark a transition in Thauberger’s career. Influenced by his research into folk art and artists, Thauberger turned to the subject of his prairie roots and lived experience. Ghostly chickens painted with a stencil animate the sky and grass, signalling his reluctance to leave his pattern paintings behind. Both paintings also mark the introduction of glitter as a material, selected for its ability to literally reflect light.

Collection of the Mendel Art Gallery. Gift of Dr. Bela Szabados, 1982

Grandfather’s Painting

140.3 x 156.8 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Created nearly 40 years ago, this painting remains a powerful and evocative image. Here the artist paints his grandfather’s farm at Holdfast, where he spent his childhood summers. The unnatural scale of the horse reminds us that Thauberger is not simply documenting what he sees, but also draws attention to the act of composing a picture. The imagery and application of paint are reminiscent of commercial graphic art, particularly posters for rural agricultural fairs. 

Collection of Ann Mandel

Black Velvet Bunnies

screenprint on black velvet, edition 24/35

After an attempt to print on white velvet left him frustrated, Thauberger produced a second, more successful print on black velvet. The idea for a screenprint on velvet grew out of the artist’s fascination with black velvet paintings, a kitsch art form that was widely popular in the 1970s. In place of portraits of Elvis and sad clowns, Thauberger depicts a domestic rabbit, a subject chosen for its bold black and white markings.

Collection of the MacKenzie Art Gallery 1992-9.


earthenware, glaze, acrylic, mixed media

The year 1975 marked the end of Thauberger’s work in ceramics. Clay sculptures like Bijou show his growing interest in small town architecture, especially the false-front façades of cinemas and other commercial buildings. In these sculptural works, Thauberger was frustrated by the need to render the backs of buildings, a task which would not be required in his paintings. 

Archives and Special Collections, University of Regina

A Volkswagen Piece

ceramic and mixed media on fibreboard glass

Like Thauberger’s earlier sculptures, A Volkswagen Piece uses ceramics vessels—here, large-handled beer steins—as a starting point for a sculptural diorama. New, however, is the relative importance of the base for the vessels, which in this case steals the show. Modelled on a former Regina Volkswagen dealership, the sculpture launches Thauberger on a path to recreating local vernacular architecture, first in ceramic sculpture and later in painting.

Collection of the MacKenzie Art Gallery, gift of Veronica and David Thauberger 2002-65.

Shirt Study II

29.8 x 55.2 cm
watercolour on paper

Watercolours, such as the two self-portraits Shirt Study and Shirt Study II, demonstrate Thauberger’s brief foray with a photorealistic style, as well as how he was thinking about different ways to use pattern as a compositional element. The artist depicted himself in one of his signature Hawaiian shirts, in front of his painting of salmon, a kitsch collectible Tobey mug and a row of tiny hamburgers and fish platters.

Archives and Special Collections, University of Regina

12 Rabbits

oil on canvas

Once Thauberger gained confidence painting with watercolours, he started on medium-size oil and acrylic paintings. Among his favorite motifs were animals that carry their own patterned markings, such as birds, fish, and rabbits. He painted animal shapes using a stencil with hand-painted details. These pattern paintings explore formalist concerns: the relationship between the figure and the background (figure-ground), shifts in sizes between objects, and the nature of repetition. 12 Rabbits is a rare example of the artist’s choice to cover the painting’s frame with fun fur.

Collection of the Saskatchewan Arts Board Permanent Collection. 1976-003

Gilhooly Saint George

ceramic, glaze, china paint

In his “Frog World” ceramic sculptures, American artist David Gilhooly recreates history and legend through an amphibian lens. The imposing six-foot-five artist descended on the university art department in Regina in 1969, where for two years he inspired fellow professors and students to adopt an irreverent, non-exclusionary approach to art. For much of that time, Thauberger shared Gilhooly’s studio, where as a student he enthusiastically developed his own ceramic menagerie.

Image: courtesy of the artist.

David Gilhooly

Midnite Express

circa 1962
oil and crayon on masonite

Retired railway worker W.C. McCargar brings a keen for eye for detail to his mysterious nocturnal drama, Midnite Express. Thauberger struck up a friendship with the reclusive folk artist in the 1970s after visiting his Regina home and viewing his artwork, all of it stored in the artist’s bedroom. The sharp-edged treatment of buildings and use of unusual media like glitter inspired Thauberger’s early paintings of prairie architecture.

W.C. McCargar

David Thauberger Road Trips and other diversions

Begin

View Curator's Message

David Thauberger est un artiste de Regina reconnu à l’échelle nationale en particulier pour ses peintures emblématiques d’architecture vernaculaire. Organisée conjointement par Sandra Fraser, conservatrice associée à la Mendel Art Gallery, et Timothy Long, conservateur en chef à la MacKenzie Art Gallery, l’exposition donne pour la première fois une vue complète de l’œuvre de cet artiste canadien remarquable. Parcours et autres déviations regroupe plus de 70 peintures, gravures et œuvres en céramique réalisées de 1971 à 2009, et tirées de plus de 30 collections privées et publiques partout au Canada.

Une rétrospective fascinante d’un artiste parmi les plus aimés de la Saskatchewan, mettant en lumière peintures, gravures et céramiques.

Prayer Home

2004
acrylic, window screen on canvas

Lorsqu’il grandissait à l’ombre de la flèche élancée de l’église catholique romaine de Holdfast en Saskatchewan, Thauberger a compris très tôt l’importance des lieux de culte dans les petites villes. Il est souvent revenu dans ces lieux importants des villages pour en tirer de l’inspiration. La maison de prières Doukhobor Veregin, lieu de culte de la communauté et résidence de ses chefs spirituels, est un exemple extraordinaire de la foi qui s’exprime dans des créations architecturales en Saskatchewan.

Private Collection

River City

2003
45.7 x 61.0 cm
acrylic on panel

Collection of MacPherson Leslie Tyerman LLP

Long Haul

2000
acrylic on canvas

C’est étrange mais, avant 2000, Thauberger n’avait réalisé qu’une poignée d’œuvres illustrant l’omniprésent élévateur à grain des Prairies. Depuis, il s’y est mis sérieusement, poussé par la disparition rapide de ces bâtiments emblématiques. Long Haul saisit avec grande précision le volume imposant et les dépendances mécaniques complexes d’un élévateur du Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, coopératives du blé de la Saskatchewan, un bâtiment appartenant à une compagnie céréalière qui n’existe plus.

Island Christmas

1994
acrylic on canvas

En 1993, Thauberger a été artiste résident au Musée d’art du Centre de la Confédération à Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard). Il a pris le temps d’explorer l’Île, où chaque panorama semblait déjà composé comme une peinture. Néanmoins, il y a rajouté des édifices de différentes communautés pour créer l’image qu’il cherchait. Des peintures comme celles-ci, avec leur style d’architecture gothique charpentier de l’époque victorienne et une bande de bleu pour évoquer le bord de l’eau, ont un charme distingué. Thauberger puise encore son inspiration dans les photographies qu’il a prises à l’Î.-P.-É., même s’il ne l’a visitée qu’une fois.

Private Collection

Chappell Picture

1993
109.2 x 142.2 cm
acrylic, window screen on canvas

Au printemps de 1993, Thauberger a été artiste résident au Musée d’art du Centre de la Confédération à Charlottetown (Î.-P.-É.). L’édifice représenté ici, conçu par l’architecte Charles Chappell, se trouve à un pâté de maisons du Musée. Intrigué par les détails d’architecture de style gothique charpentier de l’époque victorienne, Thauberger s’est servi d’une palette de couleurs vives pour accentuer la symétrie du bâtiment. Il a été charmé par les paysages pittoresques de l’Île et ses villages historiques. Il crée encore des peintures à partir des images prises à cette époque.

Collection of Confederation Centre Art Gallery, Gift of the artist, Regina, Saskatchewan, 1993

Mack’s Garage

1991
109.2 x 142.2 cm
acrylic on canvas

Thauberger peint le monde domestique et le sublime d’un même coup de pinceau. Ainsi, le monde domestique devient monumental et le sublime peut sembler banal, et tout cela parfois dans une même œuvre. On le constate particulièrement dans une image comme Mack’s Garage, qui rend bien la dissonance ou la discordance entre le nom « Mack », bien particulier à une petite ville, et l’abstraction d’une multinationale, soit la Shell Oil Company.

National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa

Painter’s Dilemma

1990
acrylic on canvas

Sous l’apparente simplicité et le côté direct des œuvres de Thauberger se cachent sa profonde compréhension de l’histoire de l’art et son appétit pour diverses formes de culture populaire. Dans Painter’s Dilemma, Thauberger traduit le tiraillement qu’il ressent entre la figuration et les influences variées de l’esthétique funk de la Californie et les démarches formelles du pop art et de l’art abstrait de New York. Des motifs architecturaux et une imagerie de carte postale sont insérés dans le corps des lettres et autour d’elles.

Collection of the Winnipeg Art Gallery, Acquired with funds from The Winnipeg Art Gallery Foundation Inc. G-90-462 ab

Manhattan II

1989
screenprint, flocking on paper

Manhattan, où se trouvent plusieurs musées d’art, est l’une des destinations préférées de Thauberger. Pour créer cette sérigraphie, l’artiste a choisi des papiers antiques marbrés faits main de New York qu’il a nettoyés, réparés et taillés. Une image du célèbre Empire State Building émerge de la surface floquée. Pour réaliser ces sérigraphies d’une beauté surprenante, Thauberger revoit l’esthétique kitsch des peintures sur velours noir, qu’il a d’abord explorée en 1977.

From the University of Lethbridge art collection; gift of the Ruskin family, Calgary Alberta, in memory of George Ruskin, 1994

Steel Pavilion

1986
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Ce bâtiment futuriste est inspiré d’une carte postale de l’United States Steel Building distribuée à l’occasion de l’exposition universelle de New York en 1939. À l’instar des autres pavillons, cet impressionnant hémisphère en acier inoxydable représentait la promesse d’un monde axé sur l’innovation, la technologie et l’industrie. Ce prototype d’architecture impraticable et surdimensionnée contraste avec les images de Thauberger représentant la vie en banlieue et en ville. Ainsi juxtaposées, les peintures font ressortir comment de nombreuses valeurs culturelles, l’histoire et les aspirations s’incarnent dans les édifices que nous bâtissons.

Parachute Jump

1986
177.8 x 116.8 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Dans ses œuvres, Thauberger incorpore plusieurs influences qui proviennent des univers de la culture populaire et des beaux-arts. Cette peinture fait partie d’une série de cartes postales rétro peintes à la main de l’exposition universelle de 1939-40. Organisée à New York, l’exposition universelle était un stratagème complexe pour relancer l’économie durant la dépression. Cette structure, déménagée à Coney Island en 1941, en est encore aujourd’hui un symbole célèbre.

Collection of the Canada Council Art Bank / Collection de la Banque d'œuvres d'art du Conseil des arts du Canada

Lake Reflecting Mountains

1982
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Thauberger est fasciné par les paysages « reconnus pour leur célébrité », comme les chutes Niagara et les montagnes Rocheuses. Les idées que nous nous faisons de la nature sauvage sont influencées par les calendriers, les brochures touristiques et les cartes postales. Il a peint la partie supérieure de la toile à l’aérographe et avec une brosse à dents; il a versé et fait dégouliner de la peinture sur la partie inférieure. Enfin, il a ajouté le canoë rouge vide, une image récurrente dans ses peintures de montagne.

Private Collection

Eclipse

1982
acrylic, sand on canvas

Le majestueux Mount Hood reflété dans les eaux du Lost Lake en Oregon est le sujet de cette image parfaite de carte postale. Ne pouvant se contenter d’une seule merveille naturelle, Thauberger en a ajouté une seconde : une éclipse totale du Soleil qui se produit au sommet de la montagne telle une cerise sur un gâteau. Les artifices ou les trucs servant à créer l’image sont bien visibles. Pourtant, le découpage des silhouettes d’arbres, les nuages créés à l’aérographe, les réflexions au pochoir dans l’eau n’empêchent aucunement les spectateurs de s’extasier et de s’émerveiller.

MacKenzie Art Gallery, University of Regina Collection 1985-46

White Hall, 1981

1981
228.8 x 168.5 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Avec un appareil photographique, Thauberger s’est mis à voyager partout en Saskatchewan et ailleurs à la fin des années 1970. Les photographies qu’il a prises lui servent encore de matière brute pour plusieurs de ses peintures. White Hall représente une ancienne Loge maçonnique dans la ville de Craik en Saskatchewan. L’impressionnant bâtiment à fausse façade a de fortes qualités formelles et une façade blanche monumentale. Cet édifice blanc revient dans un certain nombre des œuvres de l’exposition, représenté sur différents supports et en différentes tailles.

Dance Hall

1980
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Thauberger avait l’habitude d’aller danser dans cette salle communautaire, située à Penzance, juste au nord de sa ville natale de Holdfast (Saskatchewan). Pour se doter de matière brute, il venait de commencer à photographier de petites villes. Thauberger est bien connu pour ses représentations de l’architecture vernaculaire des Prairies. Dance Hall est l’une des premières peintures où il a placé un bâtiment unique à l’avant-plan, au centre de la composition, mettant ainsi l’accent sur la planéité du bâtiment et celle de la surface de la toile.

Dream Home – Ethnic Version

1980
115.0 x 172.7 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

MacKenzie Art Gallery, University of Regina Collection, gift of Mr. Douglas Rawlinson 1981-17

Rainbow Danceland

1979
50" X 70"
acrylic on canvas

C’est l’une des plus reconnaissables des peintures de Thauberger. Situé au bord d’un lac d’eau salée à Manitou Beach, Sask., Danceland est un centre de divertissement qui existe depuis 1928. C’est dans les Watrous Art Salons, situés dans cette ville, que Thauberger a fait la connaissance d’artistes locaux. Il a collectionné des œuvres de plusieurs de ces artistes. Au lieu d’utiliser un pinceau, il a appliqué la peinture à petits coups de brosse à dents (sauf sur les portes avant) et orné la surface et le cadre de clinquant.

Collection of Glenbow Museum, Calgary, Canada 80.9.2

Crystal Palace

1979
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Ce tableau des Kew Gardens en Angleterre fait partie d’une série de grandes toiles réalisées par Thauberger après son premier voyage en Europe. Sur le plan esthétique, l’artiste se fait complice des peintres impressionnistes, en se rapprochant particulièrement des peintures de lotus de Claude Monet. Il s’essaie aussi à la peinture par champs de couleurs, un style populaire dans les années 1960 et 1970. De ce voyage, Thauberger a conservé entre autres une appréciation croissante de la manière dont les peintres impressionnistes réagissaient à leur environnement immédiat, en reproduisant ce qu’ils voyaient de leurs fenêtres.

Private Collection

Farm Painting

1978
121.3 x 168.0 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Des œuvres comme Green and White Painting et Farm Painting marquent une transition dans la carrière de Thauberger. Influencé par ses recherches sur l’art populaire et ses artistes, Thauberger se penche sur la question de ses racines et son vécu dans les Prairies. Les poulets fantomatiques peints à l’aide d’un pochoir animent les espaces du ciel et de l’herbe. On peut constater la réticence de Thauberger à abandonner ses peintures à motifs. C’est dans ces deux peintures qu’il utilise pour la première fois le clinquant, un matériau qu’il a choisi pour sa capacité à réfléchir la lumière.

Collection of the Mendel Art Gallery. Gift of Dr. Bela Szabados, 1982

Grandfather’s Painting

1978
140.3 x 156.8 cm
acrylic, glitter on canvas

Créée il y a près de 40 ans, l’image de cette peinture est encore aujourd’hui puissante et évocatrice. L’artiste y peint la ferme de son grand-père à Holdfast où il a passé les étés de son enfance. L’échelle anormale du cheval nous rappelle que Thauberger ne se contente pas d’illustrer ce qu’il voit. Il attire aussi l’attention sur l’acte qui mène à la composition d’une image. L’imagerie et l’application de peinture ne sont pas sans rappeler les arts graphiques publicitaires, en particulier les affiches pour les foires agricoles.

Collection of Ann Mandel

Black Velvet Bunnies

1977
screenprint on black velvet, edition 24/35

Après qu’une tentative d’imprimer sur du velours blanc l’ait laissé frustré, Thauberger a réalisé avec plus de succès une autre sérigraphie sur velours noir. L’idée de réaliser des sérigraphies sur velours vient de sa fascination pour les peintures sur velours noir, une forme d’art kitsch extrêmement populaire dans les années 1970. Au lieu de créer des portraits d’Elvis et de clowns tristes, Thauberger réalise un lapin domestique, un sujet choisi pour ses marques noires et blanches très prononcées.

Collection of the MacKenzie Art Gallery 1992-9.

Bijou

1975
earthenware, glaze, acrylic, mixed media

C’est en 1975 que Thauberger a cessé de créer des œuvres en céramique. Des sculptures d’argile comme Bijou montrent son intérêt croissant pour l’architecture des petites villes, surtout pour les cinémas et les autres bâtiments commerciaux à fausse façade. Thauberger était frustré de devoir créer le derrière des immeubles dans les œuvres sculpturales, ce qui n’était pas le cas avec les peintures.

Archives and Special Collections, University of Regina

A Volkswagen Piece

1974
earthenware, glaze, china paint, acrylic, fabric, collage, fibreboard

Comme dans ses premières sculptures, Thauberger utilise des récipients en céramique (ici, des chopes à bière à grande anse) comme point de départ pour A Volkswagen Piece, un diorama sculptural. La nouveauté, c’est qu’il accorde une certaine importance à la base des récipients qui vole la vedette dans ce cas-ci. Après avoir modelé cette sculpture sur un ancien concessionnaire Volkswagen de Regina, Thauberger a entrepris de recréer l’architecture vernaculaire de sa région, d’abord au moyen de la sculpture en céramique puis par le biais de la peinture.

Chocurua

1974
lithograph on paper

Lorsqu’il étudiait à l’Université de Regina, Thauberger passait chaque jour devant Union II (1966), un grand tableau de Frank Stella accroché dans le hall de l’ancienne Norman Mackenzie Art Gallery. L’artiste étatsunien faisait une utilisation minimaliste du ruban-cache pour créer une abstraction géométrique Hard Edge qui a exercé une influence précoce, peut-être inconsciente, sur le jeune Thauberger. La sérigraphie Chocurua, acquise des années plus tard, se rapporte directement à la série de peintures de polygones irréguliers à laquelle appartient Union II.

Shirt Study II

1974
29.8 x 55.2 cm
watercolour on paper

Thauberger est très à l’aise avec l’aquarelle comme en témoignent les deux autoportraits, Shirt Study et Shirt Study II. On y voit aussi ses brefs essais dans un style photoréaliste ainsi que sa manière d’envisager les utilisations possibles des motifs comme éléments de composition. L’artiste est là, portant une de ses chemises hawaïennes, posant devant sa peinture de saumons, avec un pot à personnage kitsch prisé des collectionneurs et une rangée de petits hamburgers et de plats à poisson.

Archives and Special Collections, University of Regina

12 Rabbits

1974
oil on canvas

Quand Thauberger a acquis de l’assurance dans les domaines de la peinture et de l’aquarelle, il a entrepris de créer des peintures à l’huile et à l’acrylique de taille moyenne. Des animaux qui ont tous des marques à motifs, comme les oiseaux, les poissons et les lapins sont parmi ses sujets à motifs préférés. Il a peint des formes animales à l’aide d’un pochoir, en peignant les détails à la main. Ces peintures à motifs explorent des préoccupations formalistes : la relation figure-fond, les changements d’échelle entre les objets et la nature de la répétition. 12 Rabbits est l’un des rares exemples de cadres de peinture que l’artiste a choisi de couvrir de peluche.

Collection of the Saskatchewan Arts Board Permanent Collection. 1976-003

Gilhooly Saint George

1969
ceramic, glaze, china paint

Dans sa série de sculptures en céramique « Frog World », l’artiste étatsunien David Gilhooly recrée histoire et légende du point de vue des amphibiens. L’imposant artiste de 1,95 m (6 pi 5 po) est arrivé au département des beaux-arts de l’Université de Regina en 1969. Pendant deux ans, il a inspiré ses collègues de la faculté et les étudiants à adopter une démarche artistique irrévérencieuse et ouverte. Pendant presque tout ce temps, Thauberger a partagé l’atelier de Gilhooly. Avec enthousiasme, l’élève Thauberger a alors créé sa propre ménagerie en céramique.

David Gilhooly

Midnite Express

circa 1962
oil and crayon on masonite

W.C. McCargar, cheminot retraité, fait preuve d’un sens aigu du détail dans Midnite Express, un drame nocturne empreint de mystère. Après l’avoir visité à sa résidence de Regina dans les années 1970, Thauberger s’est lié d’amitié avec le praticien solitaire d’art populaire. Il a pu admirer toutes les œuvres de McCargar, entreposées dans la chambre à coucher de l’artiste. Pour ses premières peintures représentant l’architecture des Prairies, Thauberger s’est inspiré des angles vifs que McCargar donnait aux bâtiments et de son utilisation de matériaux et supports inhabituels comme le clinquant.

W.C. McCargar

×
cancel
loading
×